74 Grand Prix radiator level

Oliverd642

Hello! I’m new to old cars and struggling to find the information I need.

Where should the coolant level be in the radiator on a cold engine? (400motor)

Someone has added a kind of “overflow” tank to my car I guess so excess coolant doesn’t just fall on the floor.. I will fill the radiator up to the neck, after driving and letting it cool completely the coolant level will be around 3/4 up the radiator and the rest will be in the tank, I pour what’s in the tank into the radiator and the same happens again, is this normal? What should the level be on a vehicle that doesn’t come with an overflow tank?

melsg5

Staff member
SUSTAINING MEMBER
4 PSI is that a typo and it says 14 PSI?
You should have a 16 PSI cap that has a seal around the outer perimeter see the example cap below, look at the picture showing the bottom of the cap .
The overflow from the radiator neck should flow to the bottom of the tank so that as the engine cools it can be sucked back in.
The radiator when fully cold should be filled to the top.

Oliverd642

4 PSI is that a typo and it says 14 PSI?
You should have a 16 PSI cap that has a seal around the outer perimeter see the example cap below, look at the picture showing the bottom of the cap .
The overflow from the radiator neck should flow to the bottom of the tank so that as the engine cools it can be sucked back in.
The radiator when fully cold should be filled to the top.
It might be my eyes.. but I’m pretty sure it said 4psi. So these cars are supposed to have an overflow tank? Mine has an aftermarket tank just kind of laying there behind the headlight with the tube from the filler neck of the radiator going into it. The radiator is always 3/4 full when fully cold, each morning I pour the coolant from the loose tank back into the radiator.

melsg5

Staff member
SUSTAINING MEMBER