Need some help with a project I'm starting :'(

NewToLifeAndCars

USA
Short summary: I just graduated high school and my neighbor gave me his old 1993 Pontiac Sunbird 3.1L V6 for about $750 before he moved away. It's my first car and I'm working on fixing it so I can go to-and-from my job.

The car was in really bad condition when I got it, the interior was full of stains, the engine was really dusty, had no battery, both door panels are pretty messed up, the sunvisors are in bad condition, and the headliner is starting to fall apart. So far I've been working on the Sunbird for about 4 days, I vacuumed and cleaned the interior, dusted off the engine, bought and installed a new battery, and changed the engine oil. I tried to start the car but it won't start, yesterday I put 2 gallons of gas in it thinking that no gas might be the problem, car still won't start.

As my name on here says, I'm new to cars and life since I just graduated high school and spent most of my time in books and studying and all that, never really had time for cars so I'm stuck. I would appreciate any kind of help so much, I really want to transform this car later on after I can get it to run.

Thanks again to anyone who actually stayed to read the whole thing I typed XD

Attachments

melsg5

Staff member
SUSTAINING MEMBER
congratulations on your graduation and your first car. So one of the first things you could do is go to the library and learn some basics about how engines run. The engine to start needs fuel and spark and air. One of the first two is not occurring. I'm assuming the new battery causes the engine to turn over and squirrels haven't formed a nest inside the air cleaner. Below is a link to a no start condition on a 3.1. Feel free to ask follow up questions after reading the link or while testing why it wont start.
https://troubleshootmyvehicle.com/gm/3.1L-3.4L/how-to-test-a-no-start-condition-1

92 Sunbird LE

Salinas, Puerto Rico